Captain Rick achieves 70% of Goal to Walk/Bike equivalent of once around the World to combat High Blood Pressure

Posted: January 31, 2016 in Atridim, Bicycling, Captain Rick, Walking
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Captain Rick : I am proud to announce 70% completion of my 1999 New Years resolution to walk/bicycle the equivalent of once around the world (25,000 miles) to combat high blood pressure. I hope to reach my goal in 2020.

In 1999, at age 52, I was diagnosed with HBP (High Blood Pressure), placing me at an increased risk of heart attack and stroke. My doctor urged me to develop a healthier diet (less fat, cholesterol, salt, sugar) and a daily exercise routine.

On New Years Eve in 1999, I made a resolution to begin eating healthy and walk a mile or more every day for exercise. It is a resolution that I have faithfully fulfilled over the many years since.

The death of my father from a heart attack a couple of years later fortified my resolution. I sharpened my diet and increased my exercise routine.

In 2005 I bought a bicycle and added a daily ride to my to my daily walking routine.

On New Years Eve, preceding 2006, I expanded my resolution to walk/bicycle the equivalent of once around the world … 25,000 miles. With only a few thousand miles logged, I knew this was a very tall resolution … but, it was a goal that I was bound and determined to achieve.

I logged my miles every day since the beginning of my trek in 2000. In 2009 I began publishing my progress. I did so to recognize my difficult achievement, but more importantly to remind me that I had a long way to go and to help give me strength to carry on … and to give courage to the many people who have HBP and ‘walk in my shoes’.

image

Captain Rick’s ‘Round-the-World’ Walking/Bicycling Trek Progress Report:

Goal status as of January 1, 2016

Completed Distance: 17,421 miles (28,036 km), 70.0% of Earth’s 24,901 mile circumference

Remaining Distance: 7,480 miles (12,038 km), 30.0% of Earth’s 24,901 mile circumference

Estimated year of World Trek completion at current rate of 4.41 miles per day: 2020

Annual Progress History:

2015:

Walking: 628 miles (Trek total: 8,399 miles)

Bicycling: 982 miles (Trek total 9,022 miles)

Walking + Bicycling: 1,610 miles (Trek total: 17,421 miles, 70.0% completed)

Average: 4.41 miles per day (Estimated year of World Trek completion: 2020)

Age: 68

Captain Rick’s entire progress report: Captain Ricks HBP World Trek

I welcome your comments, likes, shares and following of my blog! (If not visible, click the red title at top)

Interesting ATRIDIM NEWS JOURNAL Links:

About Captain Rick … Atridim

Captain Rick’s new Bicycle

Walking

Bicycling

Captain Rick’s Photography

Comments
  1. panguitch says:

    Good going Rick! Keep us inspired! Just a bit of information my family has found on our 4 year quest to health. We adopted the High Fat/Low Carbohydrate lifestyle. We stopped all sugar and grains. Wheat mainly. All prepackaged and nonfat food. It is loaded with sugar and chemicals. Both are the real killers. We eat all natural fat from coconut to lard. Grass fed butter. Fatty fish and meat. We avoid the vegetable oils. If it has the word hydrogenated in it we don’t buy it. Oils like Canola too. There is a you tube video showing the nasty oil it is. Collectively our weight loss is 225 lbs and our blood tests are perfect. Cholesterol HDL up, LDL down. Triglycerides way down. To put it in a nutshell we eat just simple food that our grandparents would recognize. If you have time this is one of the first people we followed. http://eatingacademy.com/dr-peter-attia Last, eating the LCHF way we are never hungry, we eat awesome food. Best Wishes, Linda Sonntag

    >

    • atridim says:

      Hi Linda,
      thanks for your wonderful comment. Its always good to hear from a Facebook friend…and now you are my friend on WordPress. Your future comments on my blog will go live immediately. Thanks for helping make my day.
      Your advice for healthy eating is excellent. I have been eating healthy since I began my ‘World Trek’ of exercise in 2000.
      I hope you will press the ‘Sign me up’ or ‘Follow’ button on my blog so that you will be alerted of my new posts. I look forward to your future comments on ANJ on WordPress.
      Captain Rick

Your comment is appreciated:

