Captain Rick rides a 29” Mongoose in final leg of Round-the-World Trek to battle HBP

Posted: October 23, 2014 in Atridim, Bicycling, Captain Rick, Walking
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Captain Rick: I now ride a new 29” Mongoose bicycle. It replaces my previous 26” NEXT, which served me well for 5052 miles along my 25,000 mile “Round-the-World Trek” to battle high blood pressure. It all began as a New Years resolution way back on 1/1/2000, at age 52, to exercise for heart health and help lower the high blood pressure that I was diagnosed with. I started walking several miles a day…every day. In 2005, I purchased a bicycle to compliment my walking. Somewhere in the process I raised my goal to achieve the equivalent of walking/bicycling once around the world (25,000 miles). I continue to enjoy a daily 2 mile walk and 3 mile bicycle ride almost every day. I am in the final leg of my journey and hope to reach the finish line sometime in the early 2020s when I am in my mid 70s. My greatest desire is that this blog post will inspire others to make a commitment to exercise for heart health.

image

Click above image to view it in HDTV format via Captain Rick’s Flickr Photostream

image

Click above image to view it in HDTV format via Captain Rick’s Flickr Photostream

Features of the Mongoose 29” Ledge 3.1 Mountain Bike

  • Light weight aluminum frame and alloy rims
  • Front and rear suspension
  • Front disk brake, rear shoe brake
  • 21 speed Shimano derailleur
  • SRAM front/rear twist shifters 
  • Front quick-disconnect tire

Riding a 29” is an entirely new bicycling experience

I am amazed at the difference 3” in wheel diameter makes. Every time its wheels go around , the bike travels nearly a foot farther than a 26”. There is something about the ride that makes it feel like I am riding a big ‘machine’…rather than just a bicycle. Mongoose has done an excellent job producing this great ‘riding machine’.

Mongoose

Made by Pacific Cycle, which is owned by Dorel Industries, Mongoose has been around since 1974 and is one of the world’s top bicycle manufacturers. Its line of bikes includes BMX, comfort, hybrid, mountain, and road bikes. Available in specialty bike shops, sporting goods stores, and mass-market stores, the bikes range in price from $300 to $350 for comfort bikes, $280 to $800 for mountain bikes, and $2,700 for its road-bike model.

Update on Captain Rick’s 25,000 Mile Round-the-World Walking/Biking Trek to combat HBP

Each New Years, the anniversary of my bold 2000 resolution to walk/bicycle the equivalent of once around the world, I update my accomplishment stats on this special page on the Atridim News Journal menu:
Captain Ricks HBP World Trek

On January 1, 2014, I achieved the 57.4% of my goal (14,282 miles). I am please to report continued good progress during 2014. I will report the new totals on the above page shortly after 1/1/2015. Until then, I will be walking on…and riding a new 29” Mongoose.

I welcome your comments, likes, shares and following of my blog! (If not visible, click the red title at top)

Interesting ATRIDIM NEWS JOURNAL Links:

About Captain Rick … Atridim

Captain Rick’s HPB World Trek

Walking

Bicycling

Captain Rick’s Photography

Your comment is appreciated:

