Captain Rick achieves 57% of his ‘Round-the-World Trek’ to combat High Blood Pressure

Posted: January 14, 2014 in Atridim, Captain Rick, Walking
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Captain Rick: What started as a New Year resolution in 1999 to combat High Blood Pressure with a daily walk…adding a daily bicycle ride in 2005…became the equivalent of a round-the-word trek…25,000 miles…now 57% complete with 14,282 miles (22,985 km) walked and bicycled. It is a seemingly endless, but enjoyable trek. I am bound and determined to reach the goal line some time in 2022 at age 75.

imageimage

Photos: Captain Rick and his bike

I have worn out a couple dozen pairs of shoes and almost two bicycles and several sets of tires.

Captain Rick’s ‘Round-the-World’ Walking/Bicycling Trek to combat HBP

In 1999, at age 52, I was diagnosed with HBP (High Blood Pressure), placing me at an increased risk of heart attack and stroke. My doctor urged me to develop a healthier diet (less fat, cholesterol, salt, sugar) and a daily exercise routine.

On New Years Eve in 1999, I made a resolution to begin eating healthy and walk a mile or more every day for exercise. It is a resolution that I have faithfully fulfilled over the many years since.

The death of my father from a heart attack a couple of years later fortified my resolution. I sharpened my diet and increased my exercise routine.

In 2005 I bought a bicycle and added a daily ride to my to my daily walking routine.

On New Years Eve, preceding 2006, I expanded my resolution to walk/bicycle the equivalent of once around the world … 25,000 miles. With only a few thousand miles logged, I knew this was a very tall resolution … but, it was a goal that I was bound and determined to achieve.

I logged my miles every day since the beginning of my trek in 2000. In 2009 I began publishing my progress. I did so to recognize my difficult achievement, but more importantly to remind me that I had a long way to go and to help give me strength to carry on … and to give courage to the many people who have HBP and ‘walk in my shoes’.

Captain Rick’s ‘Round-the-World’ Walking/Bicycling Trek Progress Report:

Goal status as of January 1, 2014

Competed Distance: 14,282 miles (22,985 km), 57.4% of Earth’s 24,901 mile circumference

Remaining Distance: 10,620 miles (17,091 km), 42.6% of Earth’s 24,901 mile circumference

Estimated year of completion at current rate of 3.29 miles per day: 2022

Annual Progress History:

2013:

Walking: 494 miles (Trek total: 7,124 miles)

Bicycling: 712 miles (Trek total 7,158 miles)

Walking + Bicycling: 1,204 miles (Trek total: 14,282 miles, 57.4% completed)

Average: 3.29 miles per day (Estimated year of completion: 2022)

Captain Rick’s World Trek Progress Reports and Stats for prior years

I welcome your comments, likes, shares and following of my blog! (If not visible, click the red title above)

Associated ATRIDIM NEWS JOURNAL Report Categories and links:

About Captain Rick … Atridim

Captain Rick’s HPB World Trek

Captain Rick’s Photography

Walking

Comments
  1. Sandi Bartlett says:

    That is absolutely awesome Captain Rick. Congrats and keep it going. You are an inspiration.

Your comment is appreciated:

