Pet Talk: Remind me why there’s a treat limit again? … Cuz I don’t agree!

Posted: July 24, 2013 in Pet Talk
Tags: , , , , , ,

Captain Rick: It is said that a dog is man’s best friend … but is man a dog’s best friend?

The dog in the photo below reminds me of ‘Pete’, a neighbor’s dog. Even though we had a block wall between us, we were both good friends. Every time I was up on the ladder pruning my trees and plants, Pete would come over and sit below and watch and listen. We had many conversations over the years. I can only trust that he knew what I was saying by the contentment on his face.  He never said anything … but if he had … I think he would have said “Remind me why there is a treat limit again? Cuz I don’t agree”. 

Sadly, Pete passed away a while back. The moral of this story is … if you are fortunate enough to have a ‘mans best friend’, return the kindness and be your dog’s best friend. The best treat that your dog can receive is your love and friendship … with no limit.

image

View Captain Rick’s entire ‘Pet Talk’ series

I welcome your comments, likes, shares and following of my blog! (If not visible, click the red title above)

Comments
  1. Claire McFarlane says:

    “Man’s Best Friend” is the understatement of the centuries, past and present… Like children they need love and discipline and hopefully we can ascertain what is best for them…

    • atridim says:

      Hi Claire,
      As a top member in my Flickr group ‘A Virtual Journey’ … and my first commenter from Australia …I convey to you a special … “Welcome to ANJ!”
      I look forward to reading your comments … with Aussie, ‘down under’ flair … on future posts.
      Your comment is sincerely appreciated.
      Captain Rick

  2. Bret says:

    Rick,
    I can understand you talking to Pete….I’ve talked to many animals over the years….but what disturbs me is that you’ve had “many conversations over the years” with him. I’m just saying. 🙂

    • atridim says:

      Hi Bret,
      I lost track of how many times I have been up on that ladder pruning my plants, but because Pete was starved for attention, I seized every chance I had to talk to him. The love in his eyes encouraged me to keep it up.
      I enjoyed your pun in quotes with a smile. It gives me an idea for another great subject to blog about…the common misconception that ‘talking to yourself’ is a sign of mental illness. Contrarily, it is very common. Everyone does it…more often than we know. It is very healthy and a great tool to enhance comprehension, memory, focus, stress reduction and much more. When we rehearsed a speech as a child, it always worked better to practice it out loud v trying to do it silently in our head. The reason was because it utilized the powerful sound channel in our brain. I could go on about this…but will save it for a future blog post.
      Sincere appreciation for your comment,
      Captain Rick

Your comment is appreciated:

