Arizona “Dry Heat”: Phoenix set 4th hottest all-time record: 119F (48C) at 2% humidity … Where is the hottest place on earth?

Posted: July 4, 2013 in Arizona, Captain Rick, Phoenix, Photography by Atridim, Weather
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Captain Rick: June 29, 2013 was a ‘toasty day’ in Phoenix as the temp set the 4th highest ever recorded … 119F (48C). It was the warmest temp I have experienced since calling Arizona’s ‘Valley of the Sun’ home back in 1996.

At just 2% humidity, it actually was pleasant, especially in the shade. The main reason is because sweating is difficult when humidity is that low. The only way that temps can climb this high any where on earth is for the atmosphere to loose almost all humidity.

I enjoy Arizona “Dry Heat” much more than the humid heat I experienced in most other places … where the sweat flowed continually on a hot day when temps were ‘way down’ in the 90s F. I also enjoy Arizona “Dry Heat” much more than the wicked winter cold and tons of snow I have experienced in many other places in winter. I will always remember a winter day in Minnesota back in the 1970s when the temp dropped to a record low of –40F (–40C). The windows froze with ice from top to bottom. It took 3 weeks for the ice on the freeways to melt with salt. Most vehicles did not start. So, thinking back … if I am asked to rate Arizona’s “Dry Heat” on a scale of 10 … I give it a resounding 10.

image

I captured the above photo and edited it to record this and previous record high temps recorded in Phoenix.

Where is the hottest place on earth?

Many people think that the hottest place on earth is the Sahara desert in Africa. Not true. Hotter places exist in the deserts of the southwestern U.S.

After I posted the above photo on my Flickr photostream with a share to my Facebook page, I received a question from Marra Racz: “Hi Rick, what do you think of us in Lake Havasu:))?”

After a bit of research, I replied “Checking the records, I see that Lake Havasu holds the Arizona State record all time highest temp ever recorded … 128F (53C) set on June 29, 1994. That is just shy of the all time high of 134F (57C) for the US set in Death Valley, California on July 10, 1913, which is also the official world record for the hottest temp ever recorded.” I found an unofficial record in Libya of 138F (59C).

I asked Marra about her experience with the heat in Lake Havasu. She replied: "On July 1st 2001 I arrived to Lake Havasu City. The long trip from Los Angeles with all I have wore me out. The climate is cruel in summer time and summers are very long. There is no spring or autumn in Lake Havasu, just hot, hotter, hot like Hell days."

I try my best to report both sides of the story. Arizona’s “Dry Heat” is not for all. I hope Marra can find a way to ‘stay cool’ in Lake Havasu. I urge Marra to capitalize on enjoying those early morning hours … the hours I utilize for my daily 2 mile walk and 3 mile bicycle ride. They are the finest hours of my day.

I welcome your comments, likes, shares and following of my blog! (If not visible, click the red title above)

Associated ATRIDIM NEWS JOURNAL Report Categories:

Weather: https://atridim.wordpress.com/category/weather/

Captain Rick: https://atridim.wordpress.com/category/captain-rick/

Phoenix: https://atridim.wordpress.com/category/phoenix/

Arizona: https://atridim.wordpress.com/category/arizona/

Photography by Atridim: https://atridim.wordpress.com/category/photography-by-atridim/

Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    I prefer the dry heat with 2% humidity to the 89 degree 94% humidity and not even raining!!!!

    Sarah

    PS….news this morning we have had at least 14 straight days of rain in NC…..and 7.77 inches above normal for the year…..

Your comment is appreciated:

