Bret’s report from China: visibility poor, food awesome, living conditions depressing

Posted: January 25, 2013 in China
Tags: , , , , ,

Captain Rick: I received a report from my friend Bret who is a frequent commenter on my blog and is on work assignment in China. He sent the following photos and report:

image

Bret of Arizona reporting from China:

We flew into Shanghai, drove 2 hours to Suzhou, and the next day drove what was supposed to be 4.5 hours to Jingua (ended up being 6.5 hours because of traffic.)

image

Visibility was at best 1 mile. I saw no houses, just miles and miles of dingy apartments.

imageimageimage

The food was absolutely awesome! It was depressing to see how people live. Almost no recreation, and everywhere you looked, there were little vegetable gardens. One thing I can say is they are self sustaining people. I saw no commercial farming at all, just little family gardens everywhere.

image

If you look closely at the picture of the scooter, there are 4 people on it with the baby on the back facing backwards…very common.

imageimageimage

Shanghai was clean, but went on and on for miles…It is hard to comprehend the amount of people. My pics were all from a Samsung Galaxy tablet, that is why they are low quality. I hope you enjoy them. Bret

Comments
  1. atridim says:

    Excellent report Bret. I would guess that unless China gets serious about curbing air pollution, it will be killing off many of its citizens prematurely. I would not want to breath such filthy air. It looks like an invitation for lung cancer. I reminds me of Los Angeles in the 1960’s, only 10 times worse.

Your comment is appreciated:

